# Account successor - automatically transfer the portfolio to a relative if something happens to me

**URL:** <https://community.mycapitally.com/t/account-successor-automatically-transfer-the-portfolio-to-a-relative-if-something-happens-to-me/301>\
**Category:** Proposals\
**Tags:** security, users\
**Created:** [November 18, 2024, 9:35am UTC](https://community.mycapitally.com/t/account-successor-automatically-transfer-the-portfolio-to-a-relative-if-something-happens-to-me/301 "2024-11-18T09:35:55Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 1\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![rafal](https://community.mycapitally.com/user_avatar/community.mycapitally.com/rafal/32/18_2.png) [@rafal](https://community.mycapitally.com/u/rafal)\
**Post date:** [November 18, 2024, 9:35am UTC](https://community.mycapitally.com/t/account-successor-automatically-transfer-the-portfolio-to-a-relative-if-something-happens-to-me/301/1 "2024-11-18T09:35:56Z")

</div>

A possibility to appoint a person, who normally have _no access_ to the project on a daily basis, to take control of it if something happens to me.

It could work like the following:

- I enter that person’s email
- A special, very long password is generated - half of it you give to that person, for example as a printed PDF with a QR code. The second half is stored on Capitally servers. Neither that person, nor Capitally itself can access account by themselves.
- You set the inactivity time. If you don’t use Capitally for N weeks or months, we send a series of reminder emails. If you act on them - the inactivity timer is reset. If you don’t - the access for the successor is enabled.
- We _don’t_ let the successor know - he/she needs to know they have access.
- Once the successor uses their QR code / link / enter their password, if the access is enabled, we check if their half is legit (we don’t receive the half, just the digest to verify) - if yes, we release the our half. Decryption happens only on the client side.
- Regardless of the result, we send you an email that an attempt was made - so you know if somebody is trying to get access behind your back 😉
- At any time, you can revoke that access
